40. The World Is A Beautiful Place And I Am No Longer Afraid To Die – Harmless

The_World_Is_A_Beautiful_Place_(620-400)

Following this band on Twitter was maybe one of the best decisions I made in the Twittersphere this year. The tweets are witty, insightful and above all give me a glimpse into what the band is kind of like and I feel a deeper personal connection to them as a result. Ever since I heard about them and their incredibly long and grandiose name, I have had a soft spot for them. So I went into this album with quite a bit of bias and was not disappointed. Nothing will compare to Whenever, If Ever, but there was the emo flare I needed from the band. The highlight of the album though is” January 10th, 2014” a song about a vigilante in a South American country who kills a truck driver who tries to rape her. The murder is in revenge for all of the missing women that the country does nothing about. I really didn’t hear another song like it all year and it really made the rest of the album stand out to me. There is enough of the emo flare from their last album but a good amount of change to keep the band growing.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2015 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

