45. La Dispute – Rooms of the House

ladispute_theoperahouse_04072014-3-1050x700

La Dispute- Rooms of the House

Emotional hardcore music is truly an underappreciated genre of music and La Dispute is the leader in being underappreciated and undervalued as they pave the way for music like this. La Dispute does not shy away from impossibly sad and emotional topics and they do not shy away from putting as much passion into their music, from the truly bloodcurdling screams to the loud and powerful melodically intricate guitar work. It sometimes takes a heavy heart or intense concentration to fully understand the music that La Dispute writes and Rooms of the House was particularly hard for me to get myself into the right mind to really appreciate what was being said. I kept trying though, because I knew if I slept on something they released I would be missing out on an important part of the year in music. I was not wrong, Rooms of the House touches on depression, death and all manner of issues that sound all the more painful when sung about by Jordan Dreyer. I think it is important to take a serious look at the things that La Dispute does and as rare as it is that I feel the desire to be battered about with themes of pain and suffering, sometimes its all I need.

 

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2014 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

