32. Tobacco – Ultima II Massage

BMSR_by_SevenFieldsofAphelion

Tobacco- Ultima II Massage

Ultima II Massage may have one of the most exciting beginnings to an album of the year. The way “Streaker” just bashes its way out of the speakers is reminiscent of the power of a metal band but solely electronic. I was taken away with the true power of this album not being used to the insanity it gives off with its volume and reverb coming from strictly electronic techniques of making music instead of guitars or stereotypical rock instruments. The whole album was a banger for me and I felt a little of that untapped and uncontrolled energy that sometimes comes from listening to a crazy metal album. I really am just not familiar with this kind of music so when I stumbled across this album on NPR First Listen, knowing only the name Tobacco sounded familiar, I was pleasantly surprised with the absolute energy and power I was berated with while listening. This is the kind of thing I would want to mosh to and this is the kind of thing that I would expect most EDM kids to hate, so it really was the best breach of electronic music for me.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2014 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

