22. St. Vincent – St. Vincent

chi-pitchfork-music-festival-2014-lineup-20140-001

St. Vincent- St. Vincent

This album was something I thought I would immediately love and when after my first couple of listens I was feeling less than impressed I realized I might have hyped Annie Clark a bit too much in my own head. I really just had no idea what to expect after Strange Mercy. She had so many ways she could go and her sound alone is still pushing boundaries in the pop and electronic combo worlds. So I check marked the album for some re-listening later in the year and when I finally got back to it, I was astounded with how well the album just rocked. It was upbeat and fun and above all I had remembered more songs than I could have possibly hoped to retain knowledge of. I realized I had outrageous expectations and I needed to appreciate her music as it was, not with my unrealistic expectations. St. Vincent is an album that can be played in many settings, and talked about with many different kinds of genres but one thing has become clear to me, Annie Clark is making music that is fun to listen to, technically intricate and just a quality album that with any luck I will return to for years.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2014 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

