13. Broken Bells – After the Disco

8f94cc390929b9a1088a3d459214e861-640x360

Broken Bells- After the Disco

Danger Mouse may be one of my favorite people in music of all time. I was thinking about it the other day, and he has never touched a piece of music or collaborated with someone else with out totally making a phenomenal record. From Gnarles Barkley to Danger Doom to Broken Bells, his work has been some of my favorite of my young life. When the first Broken Bells album was released in 2010, it blew my mind. The ecstatic, sugary poppy disco music was one of the best albums I had ever heard and I really could never figure out why. It was insanely happy to be sure and I am sure that is what attracted me to it so easily, but regardless, James Mercer’s beautiful voice and Danger Mouse’s production had stuck a chord in my heart. Their follow up to that album in my opinion is almost as good, but without the shock of what I was hearing I had for their first album, it fell just a bit short. But not short enough that I would not still love the album and return to it many times over the year. The sugary disco is just too infectious for me to stay away.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2014 and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

