12. BADBADNOTGOOD- III

badbadnotgood

 

BBNG- III

Jazz is such an important part of musical history that I think a lot of people today, including myself do not truly appreciate enough or even know a decent bit about. Miles Davis and John Coltrane are household names but I would doubt most people of my generation could name more than a handful of songs or even albums by the two greats. I myself just listened to Bitches Brew for the first time the other day and had my mind blown by how crazy it was. Well, BADBADNOTGOOD is running the genre right now and are making the most accessible sounding jazz probably ever. By mixing hip hop influences and putting a jazz flare onto popular hip hop songs, they are making jazz easy and enjoyable to listen to for the average masses and they can not be praised enough for what they are doing for the genre in general. III is their first release with only original material and it is incredibly catchy, different and above all, easy to listen to. I had heard the album once or twice and by the time I saw them live I recognized every song they played. That alone made me realize how truly great they are, and I have hope for jazz because of them.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2014 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

