While My Guitar Gently Weeps- Black Chamber

I am an incredibly huge sucker for covers, especially when the whole basis of the song is altered but the structure remains the same. Black Chamber did a wonderful and poignant version of “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” that I had almost forgot existed until I was reflecting on the year in December. Instead of having George Harrison’s voice articulate the melody of the song, a muted trumpet does the job here, sometimes straying from the original notes, adding the jazzy yet relaxed feel that the original song has but does not quite embody as fully as it could. It is a simple rendition, without Eric Clapton’s soloing but with quite an air of superiority it seems with the almost lazy way the trumpet goes through the notes in no hurry to finish the song. I can almost hear Harrison’s voice in my head. Almost, but not quite. There are enough differences between the two versions to not make me miss the Beatles but at the same time, making me thankful that there was this song already in the world, ready to be covered so majestically.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in SOTY 2013 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

