1. Get Lucky- Daft Punk (feat. Pharrel Williams)

Dang, I can put on “Get Lucky” and know what song it is within three seconds of that funky guitar track and disco drumbeat. But when Pharrel’s voice comes in not only do I know what song it is, I am in too deep to notice anything else going on in the world. No matter where I am or who I am with when this song comes on I find myself almost forced to sing along to the “We’re up all night to get lucky” and every other part of the song really. And I am not the only one. The infectious back beat and groovy bass just worked its way into every single person’s soul that heard it this year and I have yet to find someone who does not have at least one good thing to say about this song and the Daft Punk project in general.

After last year when “Mercy” dropped and changed the way I thought of songs, my search for what this year’s song of the year would be took a much different look than what I could have ever anticipated. I began with obviously looking for a song that meant a lot to me personally; a song that represented the year to me and one that I really enjoyed listening to and was able to hear at any time of the day in any setting. There were plenty of songs that fit into this category obviously but then I went into my next condition for what a song of the year must encompass. It must have some sort of social importance. That was going to be a lot harder to find. All the while, “Get Lucky” was getting insane amounts of airtime on the radio, in the gym and anywhere popular music was available. The infectious guitar riff and the silky voice of Pharrel were everywhere and the need to sing out loud every time the song came on increased among people more and more as the year went on and more people realized how subtly great the song was. It started out as the lead single of RAM and ended up as the anthem of 2013. People everywhere not only knew the song, but actually liked it and even when the song was over played repeatedly it still holds that first magic that was created when it was first released, even if it’s just for a brief second of the guitar endlessly picking through the catchiest riff of the year. In a year of huge reunions, momentous albums and insane hype, “Get Lucky” was the simplest, yet most memorable track of this year, not only for me, but for most of the music listening community. It got under our skin, into our minds and hearts whether we wanted it to or not and the term “get lucky” will never, ever be used the same again.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in SOTY 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

