R. Kelley- Pitchfork Music Festival, Union Park Chicago, July 2013

Image

I was content and ready to sleep walking away from TNGHT. I had heard my fair share of music and was leaving full of experiences that would be with me for the rest of my life. Seeing R Kelley perform “I Believe I Can Fly” was just the cherry on top to a perfect day. We exited the area that the blue stage was secluded in and came upon the entirety of the festival standing, listening to R Kelley say how he had been in music for 30 years and was just so grateful and thankful for all of his opportunities. It really looked like he might have a couple more so we stood and waited, about a 100 yards away, thinking more about leaving than hearing one of music’s true legends. That’s when about 300 balloon doves were released into the air and he broke into his cult classic, “I Believe I Can Fly.” It seemed so fitting to end a weekend of absolute beauty like this Pitchfork filled one with that song, and even more appropriately, singing along with 18,000 people. Looking around, everyone was singing, with smiles on their faces no matter how cheesy they thought the song was. I smiled the whole time, happy to have shared this weekend with all of these people listening to what is easily the best part about being alive: music.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in Concerts 2013, Pitchfork 2013 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

