47. Coexist- The xx

Image

I really, really enjoyed The xx’s first release, XX. Like. A lot. I have so many memories associated with that album and so many emotions wrapped up with each track. So when I heard that there was to be a sequel, I was quite thrilled honestly. I hate being negative in these reviews, but I was not incredibly pleased with Coexist. It was good. Solid. Decent. All adjectives that I really only use to describe mediocre things at best. I even know someone that described it as lethargic sounding, which really clicked with me. And I don’t really know why I feel this way. Their recipe of soft, catchy, dark sounding songs stayed basically the same. The transfer from Romy Madley Croft’s elusive voice to Oliver Sim’s deeper, subtler voice is still the same. Their soft tracks with even softer drum tracks that are covered over by little guitar riffs and synth sounds are still there too. I think the difference between Coexist and XX though has to do with expectations. I was not expecting anything remotely like what I heard from XX the first time I heard it. My mind was just blown with how good it was. If Coexist had come first, I think my reaction would have stayed the same: the first example of this awesome sound would have been my favorite. Because the more I listen to Coexist the more I realize it is a great, not good album. I just can’t get over the fact that it didn’t come first.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 47. Coexist- The xx

  1. phil says:

    Listen to it as an album not as songs, listen to it for pure emotion, and on some songs for the lack there of. This was my favorite album of the year because it described a profound love that must be hidden from the one being loved. As a whole it is gentle, delicate, and moving. In this album listening to a song would be like looking at the nose of Mona Lisa, Like reading a chapter from Toni Morison’s Beloved.

Leave a Reply

