8. 4Eva N A Day and Live From The Underground- Big K.R.I.T.

Image

Big K.R.I.T. deserves this spot on my list for a couple of reasons. For starters, I think he is an underappreciated rapper and I thoroughly enjoyed not one, but two releases from him this year. He also is undeniably a talented artist, full of witty, quick lines and is a connoisseur of southern rap beats. He knows how to make fun music and I just have some of the most fun of the year listening to his very soulful, yet funky songs.

The fact he released two albums this year at first kind of bothered me though, because it seemed like he was just trying to spam the music world with his music until he got recognition. As I listened to both albums more though, I realized that could not be further from the truth. 4Eva N A Day, his first release of the year, is essentially a continuation of Return of 4Eva, so a southern, soulful look on society. It has the southern rap beats with bass and more bass. It has Big K.R.I.T.’s quick action flow and of course his insanely catchy choruses. Live From the Underground was K.R.I.T.’s first ever commercial release and it drifted away from his southern roots a little, but where ever he drifted, he replaced that with some of the best lines of the year. “FUCK THESE HATERS FUCK THESE HOES” may be the dumbest, yet most hilarious and definitely most memorable chorus of the year, and Big K.R.I.T. is full of those one-liners on Live From The Underground.

Seeing artists live has a profound effect on my love of them, and Big K.R.I.T. is one the perfect example of that. He really is the accumulation of all rap I like and have ever really listened to. He has his southern roots, the swag of today’s rappers and the intelligence of Nas. His choruses are insanely catchy and easy to learn and his flow is un matched by few. But when I saw him live, all of that came together for me in a kind of spiritual experience. I had spent the weeks heading up to the concert working furiously on learning every song by him, and in that time I came to realize that 4Eva N A Day and Live From The Underground really represent this year to me. In 2011, I was the only one of my friends that gave Big K.R.I.T. a chance and I have always felt a connection to him since then. I knew the minute I heard that he would be releasing a lot of music this year that I would not only respect it and enjoy it, but that it would be some rap that would always represent 2012 to me, and there would be no way it wouldn’t make my top 10.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

