Ty Segall Pitchfork Music Festival 2012

Image

Ty Segall is a sweet dude. His long blond hair is perfect for head banging and swooshing around to his rocking tunes and the way he performs his songs is so emotional, it seems as if he is trying to sing to each person individually. But I don’t know if it was those things that made me love him so much. Because I really, really liked his set. I stayed for most of it even though my plan had been to see all of Thee Oh Sees. Something kept me there. I think the turning point for me was when he started covering “Dirty Deeds Done Dirt Cheap” and had the whole crowd yell “Oi” for about a minute straight. Everyone at the show was there to have a good time, granted something that was true at most shows, but at this one, Ty recognized that and tried to interact with his adoring crowd as much as he could. And then he did one of the most epic things I’ve ever seen at a show before. He successfully crowd surfed from the stage to the sound stage and then back, without ever touching the ground. When he started his journey, I was a good distance away but I realized I was about to miss a chance in a lifetime to help hold up a sweaty Ty Segall. So I pushed my way closer and lo and behold, on his way back he came towards me and I was able to push his sweaty behind and leg as he traveled back to the stage! It was a hilariously victorious moment for me and after that I knew I belonged in the mosh pit. It was the largest of the day and for his last song he finally played a song I recognized (sadly I have no idea what it is called) making the ending that much sweeter. Just like when the Cloud Nothings ended, everyone leaving the Ty Segall show left with an enormous smile on their faces and joy in their hearts.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in Concerts 2012, Pitchfork 2012 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

