Number 6: David Comes to Life- Fucked Up

I don’t normally love punk or loud heavy music. I enjoy it, don’t get me wrong. Everybody loves some good, loud, crazy music now and then. And I guess Fucked Up’s David Comes To Life was my album of the year like that. Because I fucking loved this album. It just did something for me. I didn’t even realize it was a concept album until a friend told me, surprised I liked it so much. And I still can’t put my finger on why I liked it so much. As I sit here listening to it once again, I just can’t stop myself from rocking out, attempting the screaming vocals and just wanting to do something rash. I think it may be that the scream is the perfect amount of coarseness and coherentness. Some screams are awful in the sense that you can understand nothing that is being said. But take too much of that away and then its just back to singing again. Either way, Damian Abraham’s vocals are the perfect balance. But it’s not just his wondrous screaming that makes this album memorable. The constant guitar riffs in the background are awesome and pretty complicated. On top of that, there are a lot of times when there is no screaming which makes the screaming all the more valuable when its actually used. I think that’s another reason why I was so taken back with this album. Punk albums usually are all about the vocalist. But not David Comes To Life. There is a perfect balance of instrumental time and singing time that just makes me shiver with anticipation for the next scream or the next riff. But maybe it was the rare singing of Sandy Miranda that differentiates so well between Abraham and just gives the album so much more life and attitude. I’m sitting here right now just jittering, trying my hardest to come up with what I want to say and I just can’t. But listen to it. Fucking listen to it. Because it changed my life for the better. That I do know.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2011 SWAG and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

