Number 18: w h o k i l l- tUnE- yArDs

For about 2 weeks after I first heard w h o k i l l, I was still under the impression that it was a full band and the lead singer was male. Until I saw a picture of Merrill Garbus. And I had my biggest revelation of the year. tUnE-yArDs had always been a bit of an enigma to me. When I first heard anything about them, my bro gave them to me with a bunch of other music, and for some reason, I anticipated some crashing dub step. So when I finally got around to listening to w h o k i l l, I took a complete 180. For starters, there is not one way to quantify what exactly you’re listening to when you hear tUnE-yArDs. The little sounds, the ticking of what sounds like someone hitting the side of a snare drum, the auto tuned screeching “oh” on “Bizness,” the change in Garbus’ pitch in voice from high pitched to her normal drawl, the horn section emphasizing points in each song; each little thing just adds layers to an already complex album. If I could use one word to describe the whole experience of listening to tUnE-yArDs, it would have to be odd. But odd in that brilliant, creative way that only can be achieved with a little of the ol’ and a little bit of the new. And by that I mean exactly what I say, Garbus infuses classic indie music into her own interpretation of what music should sound like and how it does sound like. Her view on music is one of the most unique things I’ve ever heard and I look forward to anything else Garbus plans on releasing in the future.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2011 SWAG and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

