Number 12: James Blake- James Blake

This may be one of the most hyped albums of the year. Maybe not necessarily by the media, but the group of people I know just fell in love with this album from the very beginning. And it’s unique. Boy it’s unique. The mixture of dubstep and Blake’s haunting vocals really leaves a lasting impression in your head. It’s emotional and beautiful and sad and depressing all at the same time. Perfect January music, which is when I first experienced James Blake. I have a very distinct memory of driving under the down town lights of Albuquerque listening to “The Wilhelm Scream” and just being transfixed by the power it held over me. But what really got me and what really made me love this album, was Blake’s version of “Limit to Your Love” by Feist. The lingering echoes of the ringing piano in the intro struck such a chord in my being and in my soul, I was a changed man. And I am not exaggerating in the slightest. I cannot begin to find words to describe how that song made and makes me feel. From the crashing vocals and piano to the drop of sorts, where the hint of dub step is finally heard, I loved this song and through my love of this song, I in turn appreciated what my peers thought about James Blake and my love blossomed from there.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in AOTY 2011 SWAG and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

