The Illmatic

The Illmatic by Nas is supposed to be the greatest and most influential rap album ever to be released. Nas has always been someone I respected but I had yet to really explore his greatest work. Obviously I had heard all of his hits, like “NY State of Mind” and “The World is Yours” but his other work had been something I had never given a chance. But it was definitely a great rap album, but maybe not the best ever. It was clearly revolutionary for it’s time, but the beats were not complicated enough for me to consider it the greatest rap album ever. I really do enjoy Nas’ flow and his lines are always memorable (“I never sleep, cause sleep is the cousin of death”) so added together, this album is probably one of the top 5 best rap albums ever. Just not the best.

About J.STOR

Music= Lyf
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

